Skip to main content

Nordic Council of Ministers

The Nordic Council of Ministers is the official body for inter-governmental co-operation in the Nordic region. The Nordic governments’ co-operation in the area of gender equality is headed by the Nordic gender equality ministers, who together form the Council of Ministers for Gender Equality (MR-JÄM).

Nordic Council of Ministers

The ministers meet at least once a year for talks and to make joint decisions in areas where co-operation can yield greater effects than isolated efforts by individual countries – this is known as Nordic synergy.

The Committee of Senior Officials for Gender Equality (EK-JÄM), which consists of representatives from all Nordic countries and autonomous regions, meets at least three times a year. EK-JÄM coordinates the practical work and prepares the meetings of MR-JÄM.

The Presidency of the Council of Ministers rotates yearly among the member countries. The country holding the Presidency has a special responsibility to set priorities for the work and coordinate projects and events within the framework of the co-operation.

In this section you can read more about the Council of Ministers’ priorities in relation to the gender equality work, follow the work of the current Presidency and learn more about both the present status and history of the gender equality co-operation!